And she really read…


To encourage myself
January 1, 2011, 8:24 pm
Filed under: Bookshelf, My books | Tags: , , ,

Hi.

Welcome to my book blog. Caveat lector: I wasn’t able to study about literary theories and story structures (okay, I might’ve, but already forgotten them) and all that stuff that’s *supposed* to make a book blog (a good one, anyway?) very useful on the net, but I’m still going to do my¬†damnedest to blog about what I’m reading. The plan here is to urge myself to read more, I mean really read and not just skim through books like I usually do in the past.

I have a lot of books and most – if not all of them – are in the “to-read” pile. Despite being a self-confessed book lover, I’ve read just a few of them. This blog is to remedy that.

And still a lot of tweaking to do ’round here.

So, hi again and welcome.

***

the mess of books on my bed

book mess!

This was my bed last December 20, when I finally decided to organize my books once and for all. It took me a whole day to organize them into the 3 bookshelf spaces you see on the headboard, and even then all of it couldn’t fit in there (Pic of arranged shelf to follow). I had 6 spaces to fill though; 3 shelves, a bed side table and a table with some bottom storage.

They’re all arranged now. Sort of. The shelves are 2 books deep. And I think a librarian would have weeped if he/she saw how I “arranged” the books, haha. They’re generally bunched into:

shelf1

Shelf space 1: reference books. Again, I’m using these definitions very loosely, mind. Some non-fiction in here as well.

shelf2

Shelf space 2: fantasy and sci-fi books (with horror, and… well, I just lumped!) with some overflow from space 1.

shelf3

Shelf space 3: fiction books… everything else? >_< And I mean everything else XP

borrowed

Bedside table: books that I’ve borrowed from others. So I can remember the books I’ve borrowed from others. And return them, eventually.

book piles

Table: pile 1 is for poetry, pile 2 is for comics, pile 3 is for neil gaiman and neil-gaiman related books (why yes, he gets a special division :3), pile 4 is for manga

That’s the majority of my books, but there are still the ones in the other room. I’ll get to those next week, where I’ll finally segregate the ones I want to sell.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

yayyy i shall be a constant visitor! *hugs*

Comment by Jaymee

Hi! I’m Jenny!
Wow! you got a great personal library there!
I’ll add you to my blogroll so I could always coem back here!
Happy Reading!

Comment by leeshinyoung




Leave a Reply

